The Longest 30 Seconds of My Life

Posted on


1:45AM

It was a quiet rainy morning.

Business as usual.

Emerson and I are busy with our own tasks that we don’t even mind each other. The door was slightly open because our fan is not working. The cold air outside is just perfect.

The door slowly opened wider. I thought it was Emerson who just came back after buying something. I turned my head slowly, looking at the guy from toe to head. I was shocked. The guy has already set his right foot inside. He seemed to be surprised and looked at me in the eyes. A few moments, he withdrawn and went out.

When he went away, that is the only time that I was able to react. Only then I realized that Emerson is just beside me.

“Nakita mo yun?” (Did you see that?) were the first words that came out of my mouth.😯

The guy is not wearing his shirt, instead, it was used to cover his head and all that can be seen is his eyes. He was wearing shorts with below-the-knee length and slippers. He was holding something with his right but because a shirt was covering it, I didn’t saw what was it. So I am assuming it might be a weapon.

For a brief background to support my suspicion, for weeks now, there has been an ongoing gang war in our place. For a couple of nights, we could hear from outside exploding pillboxes and a number of juveniles chasing and fighting each other. We could hear them shouting “May baril! May baril” and in the morning gossip, someone was brought to the hospital.

For two decades of living in our area, I have already experienced a lot. From flood, house fire, items being stolen and riots, it seemed like a normal event for me. I have been living in fear and got used to it. But after the incident earlier, I am frightened once more.

4 thoughts on “The Longest 30 Seconds of My Life

    abet pogi said:
    September 9, 2009 at 8:23 AM

    haha, takot ako. baka ako di na hinga ever.

    phpcurious said:
    September 10, 2009 at 9:27 AM

    sa una, matatakot ka. pag may ginawa na sya di maganda, ang iisipin mo na eh, pano mo sya lalabanan.

    marian said:
    September 11, 2009 at 12:27 AM

    uy kala ko multo, gabi ko pa naman binabasa ito… hehehe

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    September 11, 2009 at 3:42 AM

    haha hindi…. magnanakaw lang😀

Leave a Reply

