Happy at 24

Posted on Updated on


It is a sad or happy day for me. Sad because it is exactly three months since my grandpa passed away. Happy because it is my birthday.

I remembered what Vice Ganda once said in an interview, “it is always your choice to be happy” so I am choosing the latter.

I don’t have anything extravagant for this day. I just wanted to keep it low profiled and simple.

I remembered when I was a kid, I love giving birthday cards to my family. There would always be a drawing of cake in it with lighted candles and a birthday wish. It was a diligent habit that I feel sad if I missed giving a card to anyone.

Birthday Cake

Here is how I drew my cake back then. Please spare me from the lack of artistry.😀

P1030783

Back then, I used to wonder what I would be like after two decades. I believed in the normal stages of growing up. Going to school form elementary, high school and college. Then, after you graduated schooling, you look for a job and get married.

I foresee myself driving my own car to work and living in my own house. Well-planned by a simple-minded kid.

Now that I am, ehem, 24, I realized that life is not easy. It has never been easy. It is not the same as learning ABC. You just have to keep striving, keep your feet together, never lose hope and always remain strong.

I admit, I am no superwoman nor wonderwoman. In high school, I once snapped out of reality and almost ended up my life. Thanks to everyone who stood by me and kept on reminding me how wonderful life is and how a great I am. I never believed that life is beautiful because it is not what I am experiencing.

It is indeed a colorful and I thanked God that he never got tired guiding and looking after me.

Though I don’t have a complete family. Though I don’t drive a fancy car and live in my own house. Though I am not wealthy in money, still I know I am rich. I am rich with love from all the people who cared about me. Blessed with family, friends and talents that no amount of money could ever take away from me.

And so, at the age of 24 I could say, that my life has been very happy.🙂

Happy birthday to me!

9 thoughts on “Happy at 24

    Secret Lover said:
    July 19, 2009 at 4:10 AM

    You know that i always love you. There are few things that i love about you and hope you could always stay like this (jolly -> you always smile and make other smile when you/others have problems, you never forget other people, you always help others on their problems). Stay happy always and rich with love to others and god.

    Happy 24.

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    July 19, 2009 at 4:20 AM

    @Secret Lover, thanks! kahit anonymous ka, love pa din kita😀 mwah

    primerg said:
    July 19, 2009 at 8:28 AM

    Happy Birthday (belated?) stay happy always. yan ang pinakaexpensive gift sa buhay and Im glad you have it. don’t lose it🙂 Ate pala kita no? hahahha

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    July 19, 2009 at 9:57 AM

    thanks rachel! today yun kaya di belated🙂 tc

    hahaha ate daw😛

    Lysender said:
    July 20, 2009 at 11:02 AM

    Happy birthday! Kahit late!😀

    phpcurious said:
    July 21, 2009 at 3:11 PM

    uy! happy bday! hahaha… ano gift na gusto mo? porsche? lamborghini?

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    July 21, 2009 at 9:48 PM

    haha salamat! isa lang naman ang gusto ko Audi R8😀

    primerg said:
    July 21, 2009 at 9:54 PM

    @phpcurious, kung ayaw ni jhoy sakin n lang!

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    July 21, 2009 at 9:55 PM

    lol! phpcurious kay primerg mo na lang give basta sa akin Audi😀

Leave a Reply

