Remembering Lolo Fonso(My Eulogy)

Posted on Updated on


My lolo was buried last friday. I told myself that i would be strong while i gave my eulogy. But I failed. I trembled in front of everyone. Tito Fem, Casa and Tito Jun also gave their eulogy. I was just hurt when Tito Jun didn’t mentioned my dad’s name in his speech.

Here is my speech.

I stayed in Isabang until I was ten before i permanently moved to Manila. Afterwards, my visits here are rare and short. After thirteen years, this would be my longest stay here again.

For the family and close people who know me, I am very popular as the most naughty kid among our generation. The most unforgettable thing that I have done as a kid was that acetone incident. I replaced his eye medicine with acetone that nearly blinded him. Thanks God he was okay.

There are other numerous naughty moments that I have done while living here. Day after day, I tested everyone’s patience. They almost gave up on me.

But I wasn’t able to escape lolo’s hands. Everytime I did something wrong, I would tremble in terror and hide. When I was a kid, they were not able to spank me. No matter how much they wanted. But he was the only one who laid his hands on me. But it happened only once and it never happened again.

Every Sunday when he was still strong, he would go to Tayabase or visit the church in Lucena. He would never forget to bring me pasalubong. It was always bread. He knew that I loved them.

I can’t think of anything else about him. I was still a kid back then. All I know is that the world is small and it only revolves so I could play.

But now that he is gone, I now understand what kind of person he is.

I know that he is a silent guy with tons of stories to tell. He may be grumpy but he is funny sometimes. He cares a lot his family and he loves mommy(my lola) so the most. He is very generous and warm. He entertains everyone who enters his doors. He accepted me wholeheartedly for whoever I am and forgave and forget all the wrong-doings that I have done.

The saddest realization that I had is that I never showed him how much I loved him and how grateful I am to him. The saddest part is to say goodbye. But it is harder to say goodbye to someone you love but wasn’t able to spend time with them.

I love this song by Dan Fogelberg called “Leader of the Band”. (I actually sang this part, but because i was in the verge of crying and is shaking, I wasn’t able to perform it well.)

I thank you for the music
And your stories of the road
I thank you for the freedom
When it came my time to go
I thank you for the kindness
And the times when you got tough
And, papa, I dont think i
Said i love you near enough

The leader of the band is tired
And his eyes are growing old
But his blood runs through
My instrument
And his song is in my soul
My life has been a poor attempt
To imitate the man
Im just a living legacy
To the leader of the band
I am the living legacy
To the leader of the band.


Goodbye lolo. We’ll never forget you.

Leave a Reply

