Cedula, cedula, cedula

Posted on Updated on


I just went to the qc post office to apply for a postal ID. cedula is part of the requirement. And so I went to the main hall to get one. I was surprised on how much I am going to pay for my cedula, P149.00!

Cedula is a community tax certificate that you pay for being resident in a certain city or municipality. That is as far as I know.

This wasn’t the first time that I’ll be getting one. Way back college years, when I am still a working student, I only paid P25.00 pesos. Just November of last year, I paid only P35.00 in our baranggay hall.

I told the girl, “nevermind” then walked away.

The guy before me just paid P55.00 for his cedula and he wasn’t even asked on how much he is earning.

I assume that she have asked me because she might think that I am earning a lot more. Darn! We are all just working. What difference does it make? I also feel tired working.

I just wished there is range on how much the cedula should cost or how the computation would be.

I’ll just get my cedula from our baranggay hall.

It is just a big deal for me. I really don’t know much is the PROPER amount to pay. But a hundred pesos a big amount especially nowadays that everyone is in crisis.

Too much irregularities! I really can’t stand it.

PS. In case you know how much the cedula really costs, don’t hesitate to comment here. This could help enlighten people like me who doesn’t know about such things.

26 thoughts on “Cedula, cedula, cedula

    marian said:
    February 21, 2009 at 10:12 PM

    Hi jhoy, as far as I know nakalagay yun sa mismong cedula. Yung computation is depending how much yung salary ng individual annually. For every one thousand peso is equivalent to one peso. Kaya if your salary is PhP150,000 per year, PhP150.00 PLUS PhP5.00 that goes to the issuance service/cedula fee. Total charge is PhP155.00.

    Then wala pa dun kung entrepeneur ka or something like that. Basta addition pa yun.

    So kung unemployed ka or still looking for a job, or newly grad na kailangan ng cedula for PRC or board/bar exam reasons – DAPAT, PhP5.00 lang ang cedula mo.

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    February 22, 2009 at 12:24 AM

    musta ate marian? 🙂 sige nga, hanapin ko luma kong cedula…

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    March 3, 2009 at 6:59 AM

    got my cedula… P55.00 only🙂

    suddenserenity said:
    March 3, 2009 at 11:35 AM

    sorry friend, it might be unfair for you being asked how much you pay but being honest is just one of those small things you can do to contribute to our country. At least you will have the right to complaint na. never mind the other person not asked, ganito kasi lagi nangyayari satin. “bakit ako lang, bakit sya hindi”. no offense.

    There is a bracket on how much you are going to pay. I think for working class earning minimum salary, the rate is 1PHP per 1000PHP. But for professionals earning more, its higher. The last time i get my cedula was last year, I remember paid almost 1,000 PHP. It was a funny experience🙂.

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    March 3, 2009 at 12:02 PM

    hehe don’t worry, i won’t mind.

    i just don’t want to contribute to the money that government officials would soon corrupt that is why i want to know the real amount. sigurista lang kasi ako.

    but thanks for the info🙂

    lito antoque said:
    March 4, 2009 at 8:52 PM

    i agree with yuo joy.its just unfair we pay all those taxes when we heared all sort of coruptions from different government officials.sana naman di lang masyado mahal…

    ashley said:
    August 3, 2010 at 6:42 PM

    Hay naku! I went to Quezon City Hall this morning to get a Community Tax Certificate/CEDULA…I don’t have work right now…when I was in front of the WINDOW/cashier for CEDULA request, the officer-in-charge told me “may trabaho ka ba?” sabi ko wala po akong trabaho ngayon…”e noong last year may trabaho ka? ilang months ka nagwork last year? sabi ko meron po, buong taon po akong may work lastyear…sabi ng officer, eh yun naman pala eh may work ka last year yun ang pinag-uusapan dito…magkano sweldo mo last year? sabi pa nya doon daw sila magbibase ng computation ng babayaran ko sa kanila para sa issuance ng CEDULA…Nagtataka ako bakit ako sinisingil ng Php140.00 eh “WALA NGA AKONG TRABAHO NGAYON” bakit sila magbibase sa dati kong sweldo eh noon pa naman yun…Gusto ko sana malaman kung tama ba yung pagsingil nila sa akin ng ganung halaga ngayon na wala akong trabaho at tama ba talaga na magbase sila sa sweldo ko sa previous job ko last year?

    Janet said:
    February 22, 2011 at 4:53 PM

    Later this afternoon, I went to our City Hall and I was gonna get a cedula as a requirement to getting an NBI. They select their victims randomly. Lady before me was asked to pay 20 pesos. The other ppl before me weren’t given a form where I must state my name, address, gross income and job. So i put 15,000 a month. I was asked to pay 195. So the guy in the window started creating the receipt when I changed my mind, I said..balikan ko na lang then walked away. The guy then followed me and wldnt let me out telling me he’s already created the receipt..then again I said balikan ko na lang. I went to Muntinlupa City Hall and applied for my NBI. For the first time ever…for the 5th time that I applied for an NBI, I got a HIT. and I was asked to come back on March 10, that’s like 18 days from now. My name and surname is very very unique, so I don’t think someone has the same name as mine. Hit means you either have the same name as someone else or you have a derrogatory record, which I definitely don’t have. I’m thinking…does that guy from Las Pinas City hall has anything to do with this…

    John said:
    January 11, 2012 at 11:28 PM

    No , People from the Cedula Department can’t modify information on your NBI details. People inside the NBI Offices. [Even Satalite Offices] can. But i gues no one will do that intentionally. If hit ka, That means may kapangalan ka. And it would show kung ilan. just ask the person na kausap mo the time na sinabi sayo na hit ka. and if, One of those people e may record, Then that’s another thing.

    Regarding CEDULA. PLease people of the nation!. Please migrate. We feed our Government which should be the other way around

    brb said:
    February 12, 2012 at 6:01 PM

    Nakakatakot talaga ang mga tao especially ang mga public servants na nanjan nakaluklok s city halls at mga barangays. ung iba siguro me galang pero in general wala. sila pa ang mga astig. we don’t really know their basis bakit tayo pagbabayarin ng ganito o ganun. hay…nakakatrauma. hindi ka makakilos ng walang inaalala …kahit s daan habang nagdadrive k, bigla k n lng kakawayan ng pulis at patay n!

    warchief said:
    February 27, 2012 at 10:25 AM

    Corruption in our country is happening not only in the government offices but also in private companies in many different ways. I have seen it everywhere here in our country so stop and look again all the things you are doing maybe it is some form of corrpution but only in less degree:)

    Renz said:
    April 12, 2012 at 9:29 AM

    just got my cedula last month.. and I was asked to pay for P418!!! what the f@#@#! ok lang sana kung may kinahihinatnan ang lipunan ng Pilipinas kaso hindi eh puro lang hearing at investigations tapos divert na ulit sa ibang kaso at ibang issue parang showbiz ang dating ng politics dito sa atin. No wonder why there are a lot of people leaving the country…

    It’s more fun in the Philippines!!

    Yetbo Garcia said:
    April 13, 2012 at 9:13 AM

    FYI lang po.
    Para sigurado kayong walang halong corruption ang transaction nyo sa government dapat naka reflect sa resibo yung sinisingil nila, Lahat kasi ng nakareflect sa resibo, Bureau of Treasury ang bagsak nun, dehins nila makocorrupt. Kaya kapag may sinisingil sa inyo more than what is on the receipt, kotong na yun…

    LUCAS said:
    October 1, 2012 at 7:13 PM

    same happens to me… I was procuring requirements needed for the job offered so practically, I am not working yet. Not earning yet. So when I asked for a cedula at QC hall, they asked me for 66 pesos which is not justifiable.. I had one last year and paid for only 5.00 so I wonder what has been happening when I am asleep??? LOL. Obligatory ata ang 66 na yun… Kainis.. buti na lang may extra ako pera bukod dun sa mga kinukuha kong documents kundi, uuwi akong nakikiusap sa driver kasi mawawalan ako pamasahe.. Darn.

    jojo siao said:
    November 7, 2012 at 4:31 PM

    just tell them you’re unemployed as of the moment…

    KS said:
    January 10, 2013 at 1:17 PM

    Last ako kumuha March 2011. Wala pa akong work. I paid PHP21. PHP15 for a ‘late’ fee. San nila nakuha yung late fee computation na yon???

    roel robles said:
    March 11, 2013 at 12:03 PM

    saan ba sa gross or sa net income

    Diana perez said:
    April 4, 2013 at 1:51 PM

    @HecklerForever: “Personally i do not find any use for cedula. Tanggalin na ang cedula na ‘yan!” – BIR Commissioner Kim Henares (via dzMM)

    Ed Orcajada said:
    April 8, 2013 at 10:00 PM

    i agree with BIR comiz Kim Henares to scrap the cedula..it.s rally one form of corruption in city halls,what is unfair for most of us who has no “kapit” in LGU, will have no choice but to pay exactly base on how much we earn..but the fact is, those people inside the city hall themselves or others who are relatives of those working in cityhalls can get a cedula for just 5 pesos!!

    roa0326 said:
    January 30, 2014 at 2:07 AM

    Our company is requiring us only now to get a CTC for us to pass on to them for BIR nga daw. We were instructed to wait for the BIR Form 2316 kasi the amount that will be paid getting our CTC will be based on the gross annual income. So I think kahit na walang work currently ang kukuha ng cedula, pero meron last year, dun pa rin ibe-base yung amount that you have to pay since the 2316 is for the previous year and not the current calendar year.

    steph said:
    January 26, 2015 at 5:57 AM

    Haloo. Ask ko lang bakit annual ang pagkuha ng cedula? Ano use nun? Mad mahal pa ata ang cedula kesa sa NBI Clearance. Tsaka pwede po bang kumuha ng cedula sa ibang baranggay? Kotong ata brgy dito eh. Kaya kapanhinayang magbayad ng cedula sa kanila. Salamat po..

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    January 27, 2015 at 3:44 PM

    Hi Steph, sa city hall ako kumukuha ng cedula every start ng year ng akin. Tapos applicable na sya sa lahat ng government requirements na required sya. Sa akin yearly nagbabayad for annual ITR use. Yung cedula fee is depende sa income mo.

    hikaru55 said:
    May 20, 2015 at 11:03 AM

    Dito sa pasig sobra taas ng pr3syo ng sedula ung lalaki before me sa pila nde din tinanong eh mukang may work nman 55 pesos siningil tas nung ako na andami tinanong xempre ginago ko din pag sagot alangan nman sabihin ko totoong sweldo ko neknek nila .j sanchez ung cashier.basta pasig andami corrupt

    Grace said:
    May 24, 2015 at 10:03 AM

    Fresh grad. Po ako and so i have to file certain documents such as Police Clearance. Nung first step up to 4th step okay naman, smooth nga ee. Pero nung magbi-biometrics na ako parang di ata tama yung ginawa sa process kasi manually yung pagbibiometrics tapos may donation daw na 5 php okay lang sana kung talagang may sense yung gnawa namin ee. Kaso pagpasok namin sa loob ng room parehas lang ang ginawa. Asar! Patagal ee. Anyways, pwede po bang magapply for cedula sa baranggay mismo namin?

    lilac said:
    August 20, 2015 at 2:43 PM

    for me who is unemployed I paid 35 pesos which i think is not appropriate,but when i got a brgy clearance i got a little confused for it was cheaper which is only 20 poesos…

    ocir said:
    March 8, 2016 at 7:31 PM

Leave a Reply

