When Computers Are Still Alien to Me

Posted on Updated on


I was randomly stumbling web sites using StumbleUpon when I was brought to a very interesting site. Though the site still looked like it is still trapped in the world of Web 1.0, the site contains a wide collection of stories and anecdotes about “Computer Stupidities” and is self-awakening.

I know it’s very harsh and I am not a person who knows-it-all. It was just an eye-opener that even if we are in the late 21st century and people claims that the computer have dominated the world, still, thousands of people are being alienated by this machine. Even I was once an idiot. hehe😀

Though it is shameful, I only learned most of the technical stuffs about computers and programming when I was already working. I was even asked during a job interview “Which Linux do you use?”, my jaw-dropped realizing that I placed LAMP in my basic skills when all I knew was AMP with the use of XAMPP. Since then, I never write my skills in abbreviation.

One time in my junior year in high school, when the people are still chatting using mIRC and the internet rent is as high as P75.00 per hour, I was doing a 3-pages report about Jose Rizal’s biography. It was in Comic Sans 12pt font and I manually typed it from the pieces of scratch papers I used to write the draft. It took me 4 hours to typed it. I highlighted the whole document to play around with the style when I accidentally hit ‘backspace’. My heart stopped beating and my lungs run out of air to breathe. The world around started spinning around. I went to the cashier and paid bill. I went home with a heavy baggage in my heart and just borrowed a typewriter from our neighbor. After 2-weeks, I learned ‘Ctrl+Z’.

During a computer class in college, our teacher asked us “What are the parts of the computer?”. I bravely raised my hand and when I was called, I confidently answered “Monitor, CPU, keyboard, mouse”. He gave me 3 in my recitation and said “It’s system unit not CPU. CPU is only a chip”.

When we are Trinoma, in the computer and gadgers area, a family was looking for a computer to buy. It was the time when ASUS Eee PC 900 was earning negative feedback form buyers and its price has greatly depreciated. It has Intel Celeron 900Mhz as processor, 4Gb of hard disk space and a pre-installed Linux OS.

Salesperson: “Good morning, ma’am. Good morning, sir”.
Mother : “Ano ba ang magandang laptop ngayon? (What is the best laptop right now?)”.
Salesperson: “Ay ito ma’am, ASUS Eee PC (This one ma’am, ASUS Eee PC)”.
Father : “Mabilis ba yan? (Is that fast?)”
Salesperson: “Yes, sir.”
Father : “Anong pentium yan? (What pentium is that?)”
Salesperson: “PIII sir”
Father : “Di ba PIV na ang uso ngayon.(Isn’t PIV the latest now?)”
Salesperson: “Yes sir. Pero maliliit na po na laptop ang uso ngayon. Saka sale po kami ngayon. P16,000 na lang po ito ngayon. Weekend sale po kasi at paubos na rin po ito. (Yes sir. But smaller laptops are the trend nowadays. Also, we are on sale today. It is only P16,000 today. It is weekend sale and they are almost sold out already)”.
Father : “Ah ganun ba. O sige, ito na lang. Gagana na ba agad yan? (Oh, okay. Alright, it would be this one. Will that work already?)”
Salesperson: “Opo kaso trial version lang. Kailangan nyo pong bilhin ito.(Yes sir but for trial version only. You need to buy this one)”.

The salesperson then pointed to a Windows XP CD.

Father : “O sige. (Okay)”

And the family entered the store with a smile.

My mom has been asking to buy this and that. Stuffs and gadget that are promotional only and are there to lure your lust. I always tell no and say that they are only optional things to buy.

I sometimes pity computer graduates who doesn’t know much about computer even the basic. They paid expensive tuitions and learned nothing afterwards. In the world of IT, they are jobless and work are really hard to find. Most end up in low paying jobs when they are supposedly earning high.

I am not a techie person. I only learn from other people’s feedback. I am not programming geek. I only learn from my mistakes.

Up until now, the computer world is still alien to me. I discover new things every now and then. Learn new tips and tricks every time my code prompts errors.

So in my christmas wish, may the knowledge of computer spread in the world like love and gifts being given during this holiday season.

9 thoughts on “When Computers Are Still Alien to Me

    andyan said:
    December 5, 2008 at 11:16 AM

    back then, i was worse than that
    the only thing i know are msword and ms excel
    and i learn from my mistakes
    when i had my own PC, then it started
    i often re-format hdd and re-install the OS
    ahh, but that way, i learn and understand enough
    ^^

    L.A. said:
    December 5, 2008 at 11:36 AM

    LOL’d @ “After 2-weeks, I learned ‘Ctrl+Z’.”

    We all have our noob moments, dude. I can relate to your story. Haha.

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    December 5, 2008 at 12:30 PM

    thanks for hopping by.

    i still can’t help laughing at myself as i remember those days…

    rofl!

    Ron said:
    December 5, 2008 at 12:54 PM

    I fortunate enough to play with my Dad’s Intel bulok PC, Cyrix nga siya dati.

    I was somewhat like Dora the explorer back in the days. Installed a lot of stuff, surfed the net when I was still grade 6.😀

    Lysender said:
    December 5, 2008 at 1:46 PM

    Nice one! I spent 30 minutes reading the link you’ve given. Certified blogger ka talaga!

    andyan said:
    December 5, 2008 at 2:26 PM

    hey, someone tell me “person who can laugh over their mistakes is going to be a great person”

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    December 5, 2008 at 3:38 PM

    @ron me too. i am a ‘kutingting queen’ and most of the time leave things broken hehe

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    December 5, 2008 at 3:39 PM

    @lysender

    hehe hilig lang ako explore🙂 thanks for dropping by

    jhOy imPeRiaL responded:
    December 5, 2008 at 3:40 PM

    @andyan,

    hopefully!😀 i just try to laugh out at things but carry with me the things i learned. maybe that is why it is great😉

    thanks

Leave a Reply

